Chuck Wendig – Blightborn.


Blightborn:  The Heartland Trilogy Book Two – Chuck Wendig (2014, Skyscape, New York)

You know how sometimes the middle books of a trilogy are a bit meh?  Producing the bridge between the hook of the first novel and the riveting denouement of the third can be a tough job for some writers.  That’s not the case for Chuck Wendig – in fact, Blightborn, the second book of The Heartland Trilogy, was far more enjoyable for me than the first book Under the Empyrean Sky.   Wendig clearly hit his stride and totally went to town with it (and then some, as he’s wont to do) – the action is just that more explosive, the characters more finely developed, the plot so much more involving.  This tale of diseased corn, class struggle, and the power of love and hate is a certifiable romp – I can hardly wait to see how it all turns out for Cael McAvoy and his friends.


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

What do you think? It would be great to hear from you!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: