Karen Russell – Vampires in the Lemon Grove.

0307957233_02_LZZZZZZZ

Vampires in the Lemon Grove – Karen Russell (2013, Alfred A. Knopf, New York)

While the stories in Vampires in the Lemon Grove are in many ways darker in tone than those in Russell’s first collection, St. Lucy’s Home for Girls Raised By Wolves, I found them even more enjoyable. “Reeling for the Empire” was a clear standout for me:  the utter brilliance of this tale of imprisoned human silkworms made me want to jump up and down and scream “Why didn’t I think of this?”  The titular story of eternally thirsty vampires is a delightful twist on the canon of the blood-drinking undead, and the awful revelation of the teenage bully in “The Graveless Doll of Eric Mutis” made my stomach hurt.  In a good way.  Once again, Russell’s seemingly limitless creativity astounds in a solid collection.

Tagged: , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Karen Russell – Vampires in the Lemon Grove.

  1. uribg November 12, 2014 at 6:31 am Reply

    Hi Sheryl, looks like we have books as well as plants in common!
    Have not read this but loved Karen Russell’s book Swamplandia.
    Best,
    Gabrielle

    • Sheryl @ Flowery Prose November 16, 2014 at 5:58 am Reply

      I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed Swamplandia! I was really enamoured with Russell’s short stories and I’ve placed Swamplandia! high on my winter reading list. She has a wonderful style that really appeals to me. If you’re keen on short stories, I’d definitely recommend her two collections.

What do you think? It would be great to hear from you!

