Joe Hill – Horns.

 

200px-Joehillhorns

Horns – Joe Hill (2008, William Morrow, New York)
I suspect that I started off on the wrong foot. Hill’s NOS4RA2 has been recommended to me several times and maybe that’s the one I ought to have dipped into as my introduction to his work. I just couldn’t warm up to Horns – although it had enough to grab me so that I stayed with it (see what I did there?). A murder mystery, an exploration of friendship, fidelity, and true love, plus a whole lotta hellfire and brimstone add up to an occasionally entertaining horror (?) dark fantasy (?) story. I’ll pick up NOS4RA2 and give Hill another chance.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Joe Hill – Horns.

  1. Valorie Grace Hallinan June 16, 2014 at 9:34 pm Reply

    He is Stephen King’s son, right? Looking forward to hearing what you think of NOS4RA2.

    • Sheryl @ Flowery Prose June 17, 2014 at 6:26 am Reply

      Yes, he is – I thought it would be hard to ignore that fact while reading him, but aside from some definite influences, he seems to have struck his own style. I’m curious to read more of his work.

  2. AngieC October 28, 2014 at 10:21 am Reply

    I loved Heart-Shaped Box but didn’t get very far into Horns. Couldn’t stand Ig. If you can’t stand the main character what’s the point of reading anymore?

    • Sheryl @ Flowery Prose October 28, 2014 at 6:50 pm Reply

      I was wondering if you had read it…Ig certainly wasn’t the kind of character a person could root for. I think you made the right decision – I really believe I should have gone with another book as my intro to his work. Definitely want to read Heart-Shaped Box and NOS4R2.

What do you think? It would be great to hear from you!

