Cookbook review: My Pizza.

My Pizza:  The Easy No-Knead Way to Make Spectacular Pizza at Home – Jim Lahey (2012, Clarkson Potter/Publishers, New York)

I’m not so serious about making my own gourmet pizzas – I don’t have a pizza stone and if I want a decent pizza, I’ll go to a good restaurant and order one.  (I do love eating a properly-made pie!).  But this book may change my mind about making pizzas at home – one look at a few pages of supremely tantalizing photos and the mouth-watering listings in the Table of Contents, and there was some serious salivating going on.  And, apparently, they’re not as difficult to make as I previously believed…you don’t even have to knead the dough, if you use Lahey’s method! 

Easy to navigate and chockful of helpful hints and step-by-step instruction, Lahey makes the pizza-making process nice and accessible for anyone hankering for something beyond your usual takeout fare.  And the fresh ingredients that serve as toppings are simply dreamy!  Sign me up for Fennel and Sausage Pie or Veal Meatball Pie, or something a little less meaty, like Radicchio Pie or the traditional Margherita.  What about Potato and Leek, or Corn and Tomato?  Yum!  Who says you need pepperoni and mozza for it to be called a pizza?

Lahey also details all of the different types of sauces for your pie…and if you want to go sauceless, there’s an entire chapter devoted to pizzas without it.   I particularly enjoyed the chapters for the sides:  spectacular toasts featuring garlic scapes and lovage pesto, for example, soups such as gazpacho and pea, and super-fresh salads (including one for baby octopus which may or may not be everyone’s taste).  The book ends with a handful of desserts:  sundaes made from homemade gelato, chocolate chip cookies, and some drool-inspiring concoction he’s christened Banoffee Pie.

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Cookbook review: My Pizza.

  1. Kathy July 16, 2012 at 4:34 pm Reply

    This sounded like a “tasty” read!! I like the more basic pizzas, but if something sounds interesting and there may be a picture with it, I will try it just to see what it is like.

    Thanx.

    • Sheryl July 16, 2012 at 4:49 pm Reply

      Definitely some good recipes to try in this book! 🙂 And I think his method of crust-making isn’t too difficult, either.

What do you think? It would be great to hear from you!

